Getting into it - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 01-03-2011, 10:52 AM Thread Starter

View moonmanhere's Photo Album My Photos
Getting into it

Hey there, everyone. I know that there's a formal "introductions" section, but I wanted to go a little beyond that, so I didn't think there was any harm posting here.

My name is Tony, and I'm a 26-year-old financial professional. Work aside, I'm quite happy with my life. My job, however, leaves me quite unfulfilled. I'm not planning on making any changes now, but I've been thinking about setting myself up for a change somewhere down the line.

Somewhat separately, I've been interested in getting into woodworking/trim/finish carpentry for some time. There isn't one specific reason, just many, varied ones. I like expressing myself artistically, but I also enjoy the structure offered by a more methodical art form. I enjoy working with my hands, and there's something very appealing about the definitiveness of finishing a project and seeing the end result sitting there in from of you. Carpentry just seems like a great blend of art and function, and something I can (for the most part) teach myself how to do.

I know there's very little chance of this turning into a full-time endeavor even in the distant future, but, at the very least, it seems to be something I'd enjoy doing as a hobby. I've got the space (a garage and unfinished basement) and a bit of money for at least a modest initial investment in tools and material.

My question is this: do the reasons listed above seem like the appropriate reasons to get into the woodworking/carpentry arena, and how would I get started? Your input would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 01-03-2011, 11:06 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonmanhere View Post