Festool - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 34 Old 10-28-2012, 09:44 AM Thread Starter

View Dondi12's Photo Album My Photos
Festool

Saw a FestoolSaw demonstration recently and was very impressed with the way they have gone after dust. Making just about every tool with a port to attach their dust "extraction" hose. When hooked up to the tool the extraction works very well, very little dust in the air. Now the big question, are they worth the money they want? They are super expensive! The salesman told me that in a commercial shop (that I don't have) a Festool a sander will outlast 6 or 8 DeWalts or P.C. Or Bosch sanders. But I could buy about 10 of the other brands to one Festool. I think it is an excellent product but grossly overpriced. I'm just a weekend woodworker I have no use for that kind of equipment for that price. Also I'm 50 yrs old I'm not going to invest in tools that expensive when if need be I'll run down to the local hardware store and purchase another DeWalt sander when my old one dies. What is your opinion on the price of Festool?
The Following User Says Thank You to Dondi12 For This Useful Post:
ecr (10-28-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 Old 10-28-2012, 10:40 AM

View Sorrowful Jones's Photo Album My Photos
To me, it's like Snap-on tools. I can turn the same bolt, nut, etc with a Craftsman wrench but Snap-on is probably made with better steel, closer tolerances, etc. To me Festool is stupid expensive. I would never buy one.
post #3 of 34 Old 10-28-2012, 11:12 AM
master sawdust maker

View Wema826's Photo Album My Photos
+ 1 to the Snap-on, I can see their place in a professional woodworking shop. But for us hobbiest and weekenders, I think it would be more of a measuring contest.

John,

Confidence does not come from always being right. It comes from not being afraid to be wrong.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 34 Old 10-28-2012, 11:12 AM
Senior Sawdust Producer

View Leo G's Photo Album My Photos