Epoxy and Finishing Help Needed - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 21Likes
Closed Thread

post #1 of 29 Old 01-29-2019, 04:20 PM Thread Starter

View David Cano Mejia's Photo Album My Photos
Epoxy and Finishing Help Needed

Newbie here, so feel free to correct me on anything.

I've been working on this red oak (I think) cookie slab to use as a coffee table. I wanted to use an epoxy resin to fill the cracks and prevent dust from getting stuck in there. Question #1: Do you guys think I should epoxy fill the large crack with the bowties to prevent things from falling through? Maybe only out to the small bowtie? Out to the larger one? Out to the edge of the table?

Also, I am not a fan of glossy epoxy finishes and the wife is not a fan of how orange a natural finish looks on oak, so I was thinking of using a natural looking stain and a very light application of maybe a gray stain to give it a cooler tone. Anyways, for a durable finish that will be resistant to water stains and normal coffee table usage, as well as something that won't disagree with the stain and the epoxy fills, Question #2: Should I use shellac, laquer, or poly?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0880.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	501.7 KB
ID:	371087  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 Old 01-29-2019, 09:22 PM
Former Member

View 35015's Photo Album My Photos
Lumber Splitting?

This conversation covers a lot of your questions...and has other links of interest in it as well. Hope the link helps...That is going to be a nice table when completed...
post #3 of 29 Old 01-29-2019, 10:44 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Cano Mejia View Post
Newbie here, so feel free to correct me on anything.