English Elm table top- not sure where to post - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Echo415
  • 1 Post By Tennessee Tim
  • 1 Post By 35015

post #1 of 14 Old 02-04-2019, 04:36 PM Thread Starter

View jhparker2681's Photo Album My Photos
English Elm table top- not sure where to post

Hello, I'm brand new to any type of wood working and have undertaken a project that has become far more complicated than I had anticipated. I have a large cookie of English Elm that I have been trying to make into a coffee table for some time. Unfortuneatley, I don't think I stored it properly for drying so it has warped significantly and cracked some as a result. I have been using a hand planer and belt sander to slowly try and work it down to a level surface by eye. ( I know these aren't ideal tools but it's all I currently have) Although it has improved noticeably, it's incredibly slow work. I don't have the space or funds to invest in any large equipment and am hoping that somebody might be able to provide some hints or an alternative method to acheive a smooth, level surface. Up to this point most of the work I have done has been to one side but I have included several pictures of both sides to try and illustrate the issue I've encountered. Thanks for any help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0624.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	118.9 KB
ID:	371303  

Name:	IMG_0625.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	85.5 KB
ID:	371305  

Name:	IMG_0626.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	77.1 KB
ID:	371307  

Name:	IMG_0627.jpg
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	371309  

Name:	IMG_0628.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	89.3 KB
ID:	371311  

Name:	IMG_0629.jpg
Size:	152.4 KB
ID:	371313  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 02-04-2019, 04:48 PM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum! When you get a minute add your first name to your signature line so we'll know what to call you.