Embedding nuts in to a wood workbench - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 5Likes

post #1 of 25 Old 12-31-2019, 10:01 PM Thread Starter

View Klaus's Photo Album My Photos
Embedding nuts in to a wood workbench

I think I'm looking for something similar to a "caged nut". I want to embed some nuts to receive bolts for use in clamping and vices. I've done this before by chiseling a six sided hole to hold the nut but that tends to be loose and doesn't last long in soft woods. Are there any nuts that would lend themselves to this purpose?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 12-31-2019, 10:13 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
yeah - they are called T-Nuts.
installed from the bottom side of the bench.
there are several styles available.

Name:  d311653x.jpg
Views: 39
Size:  14.5 KB

-- I am a painter. That's what I do. I paint things --

Last edited by John Smith_inFL; 12-31-2019 at 10:16 PM.
post #3 of 25 Old 12-31-2019, 10:17 PM

View Rick Christopherson's Photo Album My Photos
There is a wide variety of threaded inserts that you can use. Some can be mounted from above, and some are intended to be mounted from below. Just google threaded insert. (I hope these pictures get automatically resized.)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 25 Old 01-01-2020, 01:02 AM Thread Starter

View Klaus's Photo Album My Photos
Thank you both! Perfect!
post #5 of 25 Old 01-01-2020, 01:55 PM

View terryh's Photo Album My Photos
Unless there is some reason you canít use T-nuts (e.g. unable to access bottom) Iíd avoid inserts. The tension on the screw/bolt tends to pull the T-nut into the board while tending to pull the insert out of the board.
post #6 of 25 Old 01-01-2020, 02:34 PM

View SEMIJim's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryh View Post