Easy Way to Round "Big" Fractions from Digital Calipers - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 14Likes

post #1 of 32 Old 02-21-2018, 05:51 PM Thread Starter

View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos
Easy Way to Round "Big" Fractions from Digital Calipers

I saw this thread...

http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f2/calipers-194881/

... and it got me thinking about how to solve a minor annoyance with digital calipers:

I have an iGaging IP54 Electronic Digital Caliper. I like it very much. The one drawback is the way that it displays fractions. If your measurement rounds to 128ths, you see 128ths. You can't set it to round to the nearest 1/16, for example.

I have some small experience with math, but rounding quickly from 128ths is not my best skill. Sometimes I want to round the reading to what I think is the "real" or "intended" value, and not the exact measure. That's because I may accidentally tilt the caliper jaws when measuring, for example.

When I see "113/128" on the caliper display, I am not super fast at figuring out that the "actual value" or "rounded value" is 7/8 inch. It turns out that 113/128 is only 1/128th of an inch above 7/8 inch. The actual value is probably 7/8ths, but I angled the caliper jaws when I made the measurement.

To deal with that, I just made a quick and dirty spreadsheet in Excel. When you get a "large fraction", use the table in the spreadsheet to scan for a nearby row with a "longer line" to round up or down to a "nicer" fraction in 16ths, 8ths, or whatever.

INSTRUCTIONS: