Dull finish 😞 - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Quickstep

post #1 of 8 Old 04-19-2019, 07:17 AM Thread Starter
Cg1

View Cg1's Photo Album My Photos
Dull finish 😞

Hello - I’m new to wood working and this forum. Recently for stress relief (corporate life) I decided to tinker with wood. I made a cutting board from some exotic wood - straight forward glueing up a pattern. Came out nice and I liked it. Next up was an end grain cutting board - again, patter is beautiful (copied a design from google search). After planning routing and sanding (80, 120, 220, 320 grit) I diluted an oil based salad bow finish with mineral
Spirits and it looked amazing !). As it dried it was still beautiful with exception to the walnut ? The walnut end grain is dull - but the walnut top grain (visible on the side of the cutting board) is gorgeous ? Is this the wrong wood choice for end grain ? Did I not sand enough ? Is it resolvable ?

I will try and attach a picture
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1555668994740.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	334.1 KB
ID:	374539  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1555669031964.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	383.1 KB
ID:	374541  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 04-19-2019, 07:37 AM

View Quickstep's Photo Album My Photos
The pores in wood are like a bunch of tiny drinking straws that are bundled together. The end grain of the wood is where the open ends of the straws come out. When you put finish on end grain, it flows into the pores, more than it does on the surface, so it doesn’t build up and doesn’t create as much shine. Diluting the finish lets this happen even more because the thinner finish can flow not the pores more easily. The Walnut has bigger pores than the other woods. If you keep applying finish, eventually the pores will get full and you’ll get some gloss.
Tony B likes this.
post #3 of 8 Old 04-19-2019, 07:47 AM Thread Starter
Cg1

View Cg1's Photo Album My Photos