Dowel Screws vs Hanger Bolts - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 08-05-2011, 11:48 AM Thread Starter

View dberm22's Photo Album My Photos
Question Dowel Screws vs Hanger Bolts

Hey guys, I'm new to woodworking, and new to this forum, so I have a question for you.

I am building a table and I wanted to have legs which can be screwed on and off at will. I have narrowed my options down to hanger bolts and dowel screws.

I am weary of driving a screw into the side of a 2x2 because I feel it will crack (but I'm not sure that table legs with pre-inserted hanger bolts would be stronger).

Which of these two would be the best option? If the hanger bolt idea will cost $40 more, is it worth it? How long will each of the ideas last, assuming minimal usage, and not tons of load? Can dowel screws even be screwed on and off?

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-05-2011, 12:05 PM
The woodwrongs shoppe

View lawrence's Photo Album My Photos
I prefer hangers epoxied into a pre drilled hole so far....but then again I,ve only used them a handful of times. looking forward to hearing from the others on this, one of those questions I keep forgeting to ask

lawrence

__________________________________________________ _____________
post #3 of 7 Old 08-05-2011, 12:06 PM
The woodwrongs shoppe

btw, why would the hanger bolts cost $40 more?

lawrence

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 08-05-2011, 12:17 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by dberm22 View Post
Hey guys, I'm new to woodworking, and new to this forum, so I have a question for you.

I am building a table and I wanted to have legs which can be screwed on and off at will. I have narrowed my options down to hanger bolts and dowel screws.

I am weary of driving a screw into the side of a 2x2 because I feel it will crack (but I'm not sure that table legs with pre-inserted hanger bolts would be stronger).