Dinnig room table - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 05-18-2011, 05:05 PM Thread Starter

View pikeman56's Photo Album My Photos
Dinnig room table

Hello everyone! I'm new to the forum. I just wanted to drop in and say hello and ask a couple of questions.

I'm a novice wood worker. I've made a couple of poker tables and done plenty of carpentry work. I have a table saw and a router. I'm also in the process of making a router table. I want to make a dinning room table for my mother in law and I want to make the top out of either red oak or walnut (haven't made up my mind yet). I was wondering what the best way to make the top? I can get 4/4 hardwood at a reasonable price and I was thinking about ripping the boards to 4 or 5 inches wide and using my tongue and grove bit to join the boards to make the solid top. Would this method be ok and would it allow the table top enough strength. The table will set on a pedestal.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 05-18-2011, 06:33 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

I would acclimate the wood, and joint the mating edges so they fit well. I wouldn't use T&G. You could straightedge on the table saw, and dress by hand if necessary, with a handplane, or a block sander.

Do a glue up with clamps on top and bottom to even out the pressure. Use clamps and cauls to maintain alignment. You could do a few boards at a time until the entire top is fabricated. You could profile the edge with a decorative router bit, or make breadboard ends.

post #3 of 4 Old 05-18-2011, 08:26 PM

View mike65072's Photo Album My Photos