Desktop / Laptop for Projects ? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 8Likes

post #1 of 21 Old 09-08-2019, 05:42 AM Thread Starter
Wood Coder

View stingreyzapp's Photo Album My Photos
Post Desktop / Laptop for Projects ?

Hey guys,

I was wondering, do you use your Desktop / Laptop much for Woodworking ? Or are Pencil & Paper enough for you ?
If you do, what do you use it for ?

- 3D Modeling
- Calculations
- Gathering some project Ideas

Cause I'm a coder guy and would love to make some useful tools for the community so that would help me have a clear vision and make something great of my life too !

Thanks !

Creator of Router Bit Search, Draw the router bit profile you need, find it
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 09-08-2019, 06:01 AM
johnep

View johnep's Photo Album My Photos
here are several progs out there. Sketchup is free. Are yours?
johnep
post #3 of 21 Old 09-08-2019, 06:20 AM Thread Starter
Wood Coder

Hey Johnep,

So far, I've made one only : https://routerbitsearch.com/ and it's free too .

Yeah Sketchup is free but it has paid versions too.
Just trying to know exactly how you use your pc to fit your woodworking needs.

Fouad.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 21 Old 09-08-2019, 06:37 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Most of the time I just use my old triangles, rulers, and pencils.

Occasionally if I wanted to get fancy I have used Sketchup for 3d. The problem with Sketchup is that if you go a long time between uses, it is too easy to forget how to use.

George
NoThankyou likes this.
post #5 of 21 Old 09-08-2019, 06:59 AM Thread Starter
Wood Coder

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeC View Post
Most of the time I just use my old triangles, rulers, and pencils.

Occasionally if I wanted to get fancy I have used Sketchup for 3d. The problem with Sketchup is that if you go a long time between uses, it is too easy to forget how to use.

George