Delta Router/Shaper - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By terryh
  • 1 Post By terryh
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 05-14-2018, 08:37 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JRboostGSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 122
View JRboostGSR's Photo Album My Photos
Delta Router/Shaper


Hey guys how you doing? I have a Delta Router/Shaper I got for $50 dollars just wanted to know if anyone can give me a few pointers on it,collet is 1/2 inch I would like to use it as a regular router until I get the hang of it not sure if this would be the way to go as to iam learning as I go along..
Thank you
BuiltinWestchester


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRboostGSR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-14-2018, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 4,232
View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
You will need to use one of two things: a fence behind the bit or a router bit with a pilot on it. The machine should have the original fence.
Always move your wood into the bit from right to left. If you use very large bits, you will want to make your cut in increments of two or more passes. If your router (motor) is in good working condition, you got a very good deal for $50.

If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when will you have time to do it over?
Toolman50 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-14-2018, 03:07 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,614
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
It does not get good reviews

It seems that the spindle has some vertical play which does not make for accurate cuts. Read through these reviews and see if yours has those issues:
https://www.amazon.com/Delta-43-505-...ews/B00002235D

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 05-14-2018, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
 
terryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 233
View terryh's Photo Album My Photos
I inherited one from an uncle and use it often. The criticism alluded to in the reviews has to do with the mechanism for raising/lowering the bit. There is a knob on the right side that is loosened before you use the knob on the front to raise or lower the bit. The problem is that when you loosen that first knob the whole motor assembly rotates a bit around a horizontal axis so that the bit axis is no longer vertical. After you adjust the front knob to get what you might think is the correct bit height, that height is going to increase slightly when you lock things since that moves the bit axis back to the vertical position. It really is a crappy design, but to be honest, I’ve never had any problem getting it set up. Once the motor is locked in place there is no wobble and it cuts accurately. I got mine for free. Would I buy one knowing what I know now - don’t think so. BTW, it has both 1/4” and 1/2” collets.
JRboostGSR likes this.

Last edited by terryh; 05-14-2018 at 07:47 PM.
terryh is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to terryh For This Useful Post:
JRboostGSR (05-14-2018)
post #5 of 8 Old 05-14-2018, 08:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JRboostGSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 122
View JRboostGSR's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryh View Post
I inherited one from an uncle and use it often. The criticism alluded to in the reviews has to do with the mechanism for raising/lowering the bit. There is a knob on the right side that is loosened before you use the knob on the front to raise or lower the bit. The problem is that when you loosen that first knob the whole motor assembly rotates a bit around a horizontal axis so that the bit axis is no longer vertical. After you adjust the front knob to get what you might think is the correct bit height, that height is going to increase slightly when you lock things since that moves the bit axis back to the vertical position. It really is a crappy design, but to be honest, Iíve never had any problem getting it set up. Once the motor is locked in place there is no wobble and it cuts accurately. I got mine for free. Would I buy one knowing what I know now - donít think so. BTW, it has both 1/4Ē and 1/2Ē collets.


Mine came with a 1/2 Rail and style bit has the bearing in the middle can I put a 1/4 inch in also or I have to buy a different collet for it.i have my router with bits but I havenít tried to see if they fit..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRboostGSR is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-14-2018, 10:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 4,232
View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRboostGSR View Post
Mine came with a 1/2 Rail and style bit has the bearing in the middle can I put a 1/4 inch in also or I have to buy a different collet for it.i have my router with bits but I havenít tried to see if they fit..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You will need a 1/4Ē collet for 1/4Ē bits.

If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when will you have time to do it over?
Toolman50 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Toolman50 For This Useful Post:
JRboostGSR (05-15-2018)
post #7 of 8 Old 05-15-2018, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
terryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 233
View terryh's Photo Album My Photos
These photos show the 1/4" and 1/2" collets. The 1/4" collet simply gets inserted into the 1/2" collet.
Attached Images
  
JRboostGSR likes this.
terryh is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to terryh For This Useful Post:
JRboostGSR (05-15-2018)
post #8 of 8 Old 05-15-2018, 08:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JRboostGSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 122
View JRboostGSR's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryh View Post
These photos show the 1/4" and 1/2" collets. The 1/4" collet simply gets inserted into the 1/2" collet.


Thanks this machine didnít come with that one Iím gonna order one maybe check amazon but thank you for the break down well said..
Thank you
Freddy
BuiltinWestchester


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRboostGSR is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delta saw w/ Unifence $350, GOOD Deal?? schreib General Woodworking Discussion 12 05-19-2018 08:12 AM
Delta 46-250 opinions? Pirate Woodturning 2 01-06-2017 02:22 PM
Delta 14" Bandsaw Sliding bracket jg2259 Power Tools & Machinery 1 12-05-2016 07:40 AM
Delta 36-725 Build Review - from a newbie jwyant Power Tools & Machinery 3 05-14-2016 07:18 AM
Delta jointer stand needed wood45 Power Tools & Machinery 1 12-09-2015 06:30 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome