Convert cabinet doors to single bifold - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 06-05-2017, 06:58 PM Thread Starter

View clix's Photo Album My Photos
Convert cabinet doors to single bifold

Hi, everyone, first post here. I'm a novice when it comes to woodworking but have read a lot of posts here and gotten a lot of good ideas for projects from this forum so thought I'd throw my current situation out to see if anyone has any suggestions.

I have a cabinet with two normal face frame mounted doors located in the corner of my kitchen in a position makes it difficult to open the door without having to move around the door as it swings open. What I would like to do is turn the current face frame mounted doors into a single bifold door such that the hinge side of the door that is difficult to open loses its hinge on the face frame and is instead hinged to the non-hinge side of the other door. I've attached a top-down drawing showing current and desired operation to help explain what I'm describing.

The problem I'm having is that I need the hinge to not be exposed from the front side of the cabinet but I also need to be able to avoid the door pinching the other door when it is opened. There is only about a 1/4" between the doors now, so I'm not sure if there is any sort of hinge that can do what i'm looking for. What I was hoping to find (but haven't yet) is something like the hinge you see on lazy susan cabinets, that hinges in the middle but that starts in the flat position and then can fold over itself to a 90 degree (or more) angle.

Anyone have suggestions? Thanks in advance for any feedback!
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 06-05-2017, 08:06 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
What kind of edge is there on the doors? If the edge is square you could use a SOSS hinge. Otherwise you might have to use the one illustrated on the bottom left and put butt hinges on the back side of the doors.