Contractor - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 06-30-2013, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
View Deano The Great's Photo Album My Photos
Squaring blade to table question

Hello,
I am trying to sell an older model (early 80s) Craftsman 10 inch contractor saw (113.298032) and in the process of cleaning it up and squaring the blade I found I could not get the blade completely square to the table. The stop/set screws are not the problem but rather the belt pulley gets pushed up against the underside of the table. Part of the arbor housing that is near the pulley rubs as well which causes the blade to be immoveable. The clamp screw is not the problem. There is no visible reason for this problem. I have googled for a half-hour and no luck. Any body have suggestions as to the cause/fix? Thank-you!
Dean

Last edited by Deano The Great; 06-30-2013 at 09:21 PM. Reason: Title too short
Deano The Great is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-30-2013, 09:42 PM
bzguy
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Caye Caulker, Belize
Posts: 581
View bzguy's Photo Album My Photos
What part of the table is the pulley contacting?
It can't be the bottom of the flat part of the table itself and be the right pulley.
Can you loosen the set screws and back the pulley away from the housing?
bzguy is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-30-2013, 09:51 PM
The New Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Down south, where the food is good.
Posts: 1,200
View Itchytoe's Photo Album My Photos
Can you lower the blade a little so that the pulley doesn't interfere anymore? You'd only get 90% height, but square and 90% depth is better than mostly square at 100% right?

Other than that, maybe you can file down where it's hitting with a rotary tool of some kind. Maybe not, I don't have your saw so I can't be sure what you have to work with.
Itchytoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 06-30-2013, 10:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Oakwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 401
View Oakwerks's Photo Album My Photos
How about some pics.... I have the same saw.....

Sent to y'all offen' a iPad thing......
Oakwerks is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-30-2013, 10:38 PM
Sawdust Creator
 
ryan50hrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8,047
View ryan50hrl's Photo Album My Photos
Pulleys changed at some point? Maybe the wrong pulley installed?
ryan50hrl is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-01-2013, 05:30 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
View Deano The Great's Photo Album My Photos
Thanks for the replies guys. I hadn't thought about the pulley being incorrect, I will check out the part number tonight and post some pics as well.

Itch, the blade itself doesn't hit any part of the table so lowering it doesn't solve the problem. I do like your suggestion of the rotary tool, however. That may be the route I will need to go.

The arbor housing hits the table as well making me wonder if some new/incorrect parts were added at some point.
Deano The Great is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-01-2013, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Otautahi , Te WahiPounamu ( Christchurch , New Zealand)
Posts: 1,494
View Manuka Jock's Photo Album My Photos
Check out the manual , see if the parts match http://www.manualslib.com/manual/493...-S-Manual.html
Manuka Jock is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-01-2013, 08:01 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
View Deano The Great's Photo Album My Photos
Thanks guys! In the middle of taking a bunch of pictures and trying out several things I finally noticed the pulley does not contact the flat bottom of the table but rather the side of the housing. It is quite hard to see up in there since I have already put it back together and was hoping to avoid taking it all apart again. I tried Itchy's suggestion and lowered the blade to 3 inches and it went all the way up square with no problem. In that position you can see it a few hairs away from the housing. Bzguy hit it dead on, apparently the pulley set screw must have come loose allowing the pulley to slide out too far. I will take the table off and get it right. Thanks again for all the replies!
Deano The Great is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fix old contractor saw or buy new? Nacho Power Tools & Machinery 3 08-29-2012 11:36 PM
Contractor Problems cabinetman Off Topic 60 06-22-2011 08:02 PM
how much or little vibration on a contractor saw ? jkristia Power Tools & Machinery 13 12-19-2010 01:34 AM
DC for a Contractor saw rrich Power Tools & Machinery 1 09-28-2009 10:25 PM
Powermatic 64 Contractor Saw woodman42 Tool Reviews 2 12-05-2007 12:49 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome