contr TS how close good enough? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 06-03-2008, 03:08 PM Thread Starter

View nubie's Photo Album My Photos
contr TS how close good enough?

I'm new at woodworking. Have delta contractor saw. Have aligned blade to the mitre and unifence and all appears to be square although with my mitre there is some play 90 degree to the blade. Have made one simple plant stand that ended up off square due to either my cross-cutting on the saw or to my assembly are not right on square. I've read other threads and get different tolerances- 1/64th off in 6" cut is ok, no, 0.001" is even too much for a cross-cut.

So, here's questions to contractor saw users who make simple small furniture for fun like coffee tables, plant stands, etc

-how much can I be off on a 6" cut and still get a good square product from your experience?

-when setting up the saw, how much can the front-to-back blade be off to the fence?

Nubie at woodworking-old in years!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 06-03-2008, 03:39 PM
No Longer Here

View user4178's Photo Album My Photos
Personally, I do very little crosscuting on the tablesaw, most of my crosscuts are done with a mitersaw, I feel I have more control of the board on a mitersaw. About the only time I crosscut on the tablesaw is when the board is too wide to cut it in a single cut on a mitersaw, then I generally use a sled on the tablesaw.
post #3 of 8 Old 06-03-2008, 10:04 PM

View allthunbs's Photo Album My Photos
Hi Nubie:

I hope your Delta is a good old one that weighs a ton. They were pretty good. The newer ones don't seem to have the same ???? than the old ones.