A concern of safety. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 34 Old 10-03-2012, 03:48 AM Thread Starter
Absent Minded Alicorn

View Calzone's Photo Album My Photos
A concern of safety.

SO

As many of you know, I am a student in high school and am active in the shop very often. (every period the whole semester) As a result, I see everything that goes on and I pay careful attention to everyone and basically administrate the shop and make sure that everything is in order alongside my teacher.
My problem currently is this.

My woodworking teacher has given authority to another teacher in class that I do not know really personally.

The new teacher that I do not know claims to be making a spiral staircase for his in-law daughter. As a result, he needed to do a tapered cut on some plywood panels. My woods teacher told the other teacher to make a Jig for the tablesaw, or use a Skill saw.

The teacher disregarded these two options and told him he would do it freehand on the tablesaw.
My woods teacher shrugged, and I told him he was crazy.
He gave me the stink eye.

And he did, and the cuts came out inaccurate, and I told him they would. he said it didn't matter if they were accurate (this is true)

Now I respect that I am a new up and coming woodworker. I know that in the industry, almost nobody uses a guard on the tablesaw, and many preemptive measures in a school's woodworking shop are much more strict than that of a real full fledged cabinet shop, but this is just a big no In my book, as well as my father's who has had experience in cabinet shops for 20 years. And who just had an incident doing a commission less than two weeks ago where they needed to cut a top flush to a side using a flush trim router bit, but instead his partner ran the cut freehand, the board grabbed the edge, ripped a corner off and flung it completely ruining the panel. I don't think I've heard my dad vent like that in years.