As a complete newbie, can I build a wardrobe? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 01-07-2014, 07:55 AM Thread Starter
zhd

View zhd's Photo Album My Photos
As a complete newbie, can I build a wardrobe?

Hi. I want to build a wardrobe and bed at the top space saving furniture. I actually never worked with wood at this size, just some shelves and precise hobby objects and diy stuff. I am all up to go, but there may be, and probably, aspects that a mere newbie like me may not be able to see. So i wanted to ask my adept craftsmans before I start buying equipment and designing. Would you suggest me to get into this or not? Consider these informations.

-I work obsesively precise. I am confident at designing, marking and cutting.
-I am planing to build it only with those equipments:
* I am going to buy a circular saw, found one at sale: Bosh PKS 66 AF which has guides for precise linear cutting.
*Two sawing horses.
*An electrical driver and driller(borrow from friend)
*Thats it I don't want to use milling machine. I am not able to find one and don't know how to use. I like sharp edges anyway
-Going to use real wood, which is very uncommon and expensive here. Only avaliable as massive panel and timber. I am planning to buy timber and cut it as I want. I expect it to be cheaper and I will still able to work with real wood. I may get it cut to layers to local shop, than adjust rest with my own circ. saw.
-I don't expect it to be a state of art design. To me, the real wood texture itself is better than anything anyway. I have a boxy, two sliding panels design in my mind. So I don't need milling machine for dravers and cabinets hinges.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-07-2014, 08:22 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
maybe, maybe not...

As a complete newbie, can I build a wardrobe?
"Hi. I want to build a wardrobe ...... and bed .... at the top ... space saving furniture."
Are these separate pieces?