Colored Wood Stain Options - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 3 Post By Quickstep

post #1 of 7 Old 09-10-2020, 09:51 PM Thread Starter

View steelwoody's Photo Album My Photos
Colored Wood Stain Options

Hello everyone.

As a drummer, I do a lot of work on wooden drum shells. I have recently decided that I would like to offer finishing services to customers.
I've seen some extremely creative and good looking colored wood stains used on drum shells. My question is has anyone ever used any of these colored stains and what advice you might offer on their use including sealing after application.
Looking for manufacturers, methods of application, any tips or tricks as well as any potential pitfalls to avoid. I should also clarify that when I say "colored" stain I'm referring to blues, reds, greens, yellows, etc. (as in rainbow and pastels)

Thanks!

Emil
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 09-10-2020, 10:06 PM

View allpurpose's Photo Album My Photos
I know next to nothing about this particular subject, but I do know how to use a spray gun. Not sure about stain and spray, but I imagine it isn't that much different from base coat clear coat in the automotive industry. I could be wrong and probably am, but hey, practice, practice and more practice on scrap pieces until you have it mastered..

I figured it's time to change my signature so hold your breath. This is it.
Impressive, huh?
Marty or Marty Farty if you feel mean.
post #3 of 7 Old 09-10-2020, 11:03 PM

View Quickstep's Photo Album My Photos
I like TransTint dye from Homestead Finishing. It comes in Red, Blue, Purple, Green, Yellow, Orange and Black as well as wood tones. It comes as a concentrate which can be mixed with alcohol, water or a combination of both. Spraying the alcohol solution is a breeze. Wiping the alcohol solution can be tricky Because it dries so quickly, but adding some water provides a bit more working time.