Collapsible workbench - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 02-13-2013, 01:55 PM Thread Starter

View Kleptican's Photo Album My Photos
Collapsible workbench

Hey all,

I'm thinking of making a workbench in my garage. I'm only a hobbyist (and a beginner at that) so it'll only be used occassionally; however, given the room in the garage, I'd like to make it collapsible. I know there's a lot of different designs out there that I could use as a reference, but my question is about the the material used for the top of the workbench.

I acquired an old executive desk from my job and have since taken the desk apart and now have the flat desk surface. It's 3' x 6' and it's extremely heavy (I may cut it down slightly). It appears to be particle board (of course with a veneer on the surface). I was planning to use 3 door hinges screwed into the desk surface and then of course screw the other end of the hinges into a horizontal piece of wood (I'm not sure if a single 2x4 is sturdy enough or if I need a couple of 2x4's glued/screwed together). So, when the work bench needs to fold, the surface will hang from the hinges. My question is, is the particle board strong enough to hold the screws while it's hanging from the hinges?

Thanks.

- Kleptican
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 02-13-2013, 02:35 PM
Hobbyist wood-butcher

View thegrgyle's Photo Album My Photos
I would lean to say no, especially if your workbench is going to take any abuse (pounding, shaking, etc). I would be inclined, if you want to use that top, to glue a hardwood strip on the edge that you want to fasten the hinges to, and then screw into that hardwood edge. They will hold the screws alot better.

Fabian

I used to be fairly indecisive, but now....... I'm not so sure.
post #3 of 5 Old 02-13-2013, 02:40 PM

View EHCRain's Photo Album My Photos