Cheap shop air filtration - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By difalkner

post #1 of 10 Old 03-18-2019, 11:03 AM Thread Starter

View jeremymcon's Photo Album My Photos
Cheap shop air filtration

I've seen lots of people putting furnace filters on box fans, and from what I've seen it works ok. Problem I have with that approach is that the filters get expensive.

But I had a thought recently - I can buy a 3 micron dust collector bag for $25. I have been using the same bag on my dust collector for like 3 years - I just knock the dust out of it and keep on using it.

Why can't I just buy a dust collector bag, cut it down too get a panel that fits my box fan, and just keep knocking/vacuuming out the dust and reusing that piece of felt? This will work right?

If not, why not?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 03-18-2019, 11:14 AM

View Dean Mcneil's Photo Album My Photos
That sounds good to me. 👍
post #3 of 10 Old 03-18-2019, 11:22 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
It may work... kinda?

The area in square inches of filtration is much greater in a pleated furnace filter than a single layer of fabric. Once your fabric gets the least bit clogged, you filtration suffers greatly. When I made a box fan filter, I used a "U" channel track on the side so I could slide a new filter in without a lot of fuss. I then took the clogged filter outside and gently banged it on the driveway. Most of the dust came right out. My outside air hose finished the job.

By just occasionally cleaning the filters, you will save money over buying new ones. They will actually last quite a long while.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 03-18-2019, 11:47 AM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos