Can't get a straight edge..AHH - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 30 Old 12-16-2015, 08:21 PM Thread Starter

View flamingoezz's Photo Album My Photos
Can't get a straight edge..AHH

I'm a woodworker from a former life -- haven't really done any fine woodworking since high school but picked up a table saw and want to start doing it as a hobby.

I don't have a jointer and have seen videos where people use a jig to get a straight edge on a board. I tried building a similar jig but am having some trouble.

after i run it through the saw, i put a level to it. the back half of the board is straight as can be, but about half way down you can start seeing some light under the level. by the end theres a little more light -- we're talking maybe 1/32". I've run several boards with the same result.

I'm keeping my jig against the fence as far as I can tell. Is there something I can look for in my saw setup or technique in running long boards (56") that might cause the front of my board to be a little shallow?

I assume 1/32" will give me some issue in edge glue up -- if that is the case, and im unable to get the table to make a straight enough cut, do you think a small hand plane will work to get it close enough for gluing? I don't have a larger #7 or 8 plane and haven't really picked up a plane in decades. Could use some ideas or advice from some people with experience.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old 12-16-2015, 08:57 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Perhaps there is something wrong with the saw but more than likely the blade is too dull for that kind of work. A blade that is a little dull can bend while making the cut.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
mikeswoods (12-16-2015)
post #3 of 30 Old 12-16-2015, 09:03 PM

View mattshake9451's Photo Album My Photos