Butcher Block counter top - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 07-13-2015, 12:08 AM Thread Starter

View OutdoorSeeker's Photo Album My Photos
Butcher Block counter top

Hi all,

This is going to be my first project to build for our house. Looking for any advise, tricks, tips, or do not's. I am a complete novice and lack a full workshop, so I am trying to get all my ducks in a row.

I will be building this from the trees(Hickory) off our property. I know this is years in the making so I would like to give updates as I go.

My questions I have:

I would like to rough cut my slabs into 4" stock. Can anyone tell me how long I should expect the drying time to be. I have never done anything like this, but plan on drying in the attic.

Should I consider doing anything to the slabs to keep pests from destroying the wood...i.e. carpenter ants

As far as the milling procedure, I am looking into a cheap chainsaw style jig. What would you suggest. I have started my search with a Granberg Alaskan Mark lll saw mill with rails. Are there better options out there?

The only feature I have for the counter top in my mind is that I would like to install a removable cutting board that has a trashcan underneath . We might move the sink over to the island but not sure yet. We really have no plans but a build as I go. So any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

I will be off to search and read throughout the forum for all your work in the past. I probably only have one shot at this, so I don't want to screw it up. Thanks for any and all reply's.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 07-13-2015, 12:39 AM

View mtnwalton's Photo Album My Photos
Haven't had experience with hickory, but I would consider milling into narrower widths, purpose being is to minimize bowing, checking, warpage in general. Narrow widths will help to accomplish this.
post #3 of 12 Old 07-13-2015, 01:47 AM

View ed_h's Photo Album My Photos