building a "reclaimed" looking dining table - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 01-04-2013, 03:33 PM Thread Starter

View bobbydacron's Photo Album My Photos
building a "reclaimed" looking dining table

I'm a relative newbie on this. earlier this year I built a dining table for my daughter. I stained/varnished 2x8 birch planks from HD, and used 3 cross braces that were 1x3's. I then attached ikea legs. Overall I was reallypleased with it, and she think I'm dad of the year. It looked good however I have noticed that planks seem to be " gaping" a little from each other. I swear they originally touched, now they are about 1/8" to 3/16" apart.

So here are my questions (finally, right?)
I want to build a table for me and my wife. Should I use different wood? I want a naturally type of finish and I will beat the wood up and stain it. Could I use birch 1" x 8's boards instead of 2" x 8's? If I do that do I need to put an apron underneath? I would rather not have an apron, I just want a table top with hairpin legs. AND lastly, where did I go wrong with the boards gaping? Should I have used biscuits and glued/clamped the planks together? How can I make sure that the planks/boards don't warp at the end so that one plank end goes down and the one next to it goes up?

Thanks everyone, I really am an enthusiastic beginner on this.
Bob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-04-2013, 03:53 PM

View Gilgaron's Photo Album My Photos
So were the planks not glued to each other on the table top?
post #3 of 11 Old 01-04-2013, 08:02 PM Thread Starter

Hi there, that's right. I didn't glue them at all. I just had 3 firing (?) braces across it and then screwed the legs on. Do you think that was the issue? I'm wondering if I glue the strips together with biscuit joints if that will solve the issue, do I even need the biscuit joints? Thanks so much for helping here
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 01-05-2013, 02:46 PM