Building Office Desk: How to Attach Legs Securely? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 07-30-2012, 05:58 PM Thread Starter

View scotttyb's Photo Album My Photos
Building Office Desk: How to Attach Legs Securely?

I am somewhat new to woodworking, but stumbled across this forum and was hoping you could help. If nothing else, to tell me that this project is over my head :)

I want to build a Desk for my Home Office, and I want it to look very close to the one in the picture, I particularly like the way the legs look. My main concern is stability, as the top parts of the legs are exposed, which would seem to make it harder to make them secure. Specifically securing the part in the center, where the legs attach to the underside of the table. Or maybe whoever did this, put some brackets under the table and attached it to the wall!
Btw, this table will have about 4 laptops, 3 monitors, some routers, and a couple of phones on it, so a bit of weight, but not over the top.
Can you give me any tips/methods securing these types of legs. Maybe someone has done something like this and you have some pictures I can see?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 07-30-2012, 06:07 PM
Small Member

View JBSmall's Photo Album My Photos
I wonder if they are even wood.
Some designs just should not be made of wood. That looks like a good candidate.
I'm sure it could be done, but your gut apprehension just might be right.
It would be a vulnerable design, not because of load, but because of side-force kicks and bumps.
post #3 of 11 Old 07-30-2012, 08:38 PM

View Dave66's Photo Album My Photos
Quite honestly, that looks like some designers wet dream - really pretty, but not very practical.

If I were doing it, I would use a M&T apron/leg assembly with the apron on the sides and back. I would attach the top with figure eightd.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 07-30-2012, 09:18 PM

View woodbutcher360's Photo Album My Photos