Building a Cat Condo - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Packard

post #1 of 12 Old 10-15-2018, 06:23 PM Thread Starter

View CLS89's Photo Album My Photos
Building a Cat Condo

Hello,

I plan on building a cat condo/tree for my cat. I've attached a photo of a design I would like to follow.

For the two middle platforms I plan on cutting dado's into the 2x4 legs and than gluing friction fitting the plywood platforms into the dado grooves.

The top plywood platform I will drive screws from the top of the plywood into the 2x4s.

I want to join the bottom platform with the 2x4s by cutting a rabbet into the bottom half of the 2x4 and than fitting it over the plywood. I will than drive a screw from the bottom of the platform into the 2x4. Please see poorly drawn diagram.

I am a beginner, and I'm thinking this should be simple and easy enough, I would just like some feed back on my approach.

Thanks
Attached Images

Last edited by CLS89; 10-15-2018 at 06:28 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 10-15-2018, 07:39 PM

View TomCT2's Photo Album My Photos
use glue - it'll work just fine and be plenty strong.

I would use a nail vs. a screw to hold it while the glue dries - often when you run a screw through carpet the pile catches on the screw threads, pulls yarn out of the rug pile, and can gum up the screw going cleanly into the wood.
post #3 of 12 Old 10-16-2018, 04:26 PM

View Packard's Photo Album My Photos
I like the cat shelves. You can offer the cat more space and it does not use up any actual living space. Looks cool too.

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....SL._SX425_.jpg

http://www.therefinedfeline.com/imag..._MA_wLOTUS.jpg

https://www.kittyloaf.com/wp-content...g-768x1024.jpg

https://www.google.com/search?q=cat+...ih=639#imgrc=_

https://www.kittyloaf.com/wp-content...3001966876.png

Last edited by Packard; 10-16-2018 at 04:27 PM. Reason: additional link
Sponsored Links
Advertisement