Building cabinet doors, cope & stick or Festool Domino? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 11-05-2015, 07:21 AM Thread Starter

View Danny870's Photo Album My Photos
Building cabinet doors, cope & stick or Festool Domino?

Hey guys, New member here, wanted to get some opinions on building cabinet doors. I have been building cabinets for a living for several years now, working for someone else, but, I want to start doing my own cabinet building on the side. I am debating on buying another shaper table, or possibly buying a Festool Domino for building cabinet doors. So which do you prefer, coping the rails with traditional stiles made on a shaper table, or using a Festool Domino to join the stiles with the rails?

I already own an older Delta Shaper and a Harbor Freight shaper (I know I know, HF sucks, but in their defense this little shaper has served us well for several years at my work) and am considering buying a Grizzly G1026 that I found locally for a good price. I want to use the HF shaper for rails, the old Delta for stiles, and the big Grizzly for raised panels. I would like to hear some opinions on which you guys would prefer?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 11-05-2015, 10:39 AM

View Hammer1's Photo Album My Photos
You wouldn't use something like a Domino unless there are square edges, no cope and stick.
post #3 of 11 Old 11-05-2015, 11:45 AM
Wood Snob

View Al B Thayer's Photo Album My Photos
You can buy shaper spindles without breaking the bank. Build a "setup" for making cabinet doors. Make them simi dedicated and you will save on cost and get more heads.

I wouldn't recommend a router setup for production. The cutters are smaller and you won't be able to mill as many feet.

Al

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 11-05-2015, 08:31 PM

View OnealWoodworking's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny870 View Post