Broken domino joint - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 07-23-2015, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
View Vaskerville's Photo Album My Photos
Broken domino joint

Hello, first time poster here...

I just moved from Mauritania to Haiti and my dining table took some crazy pressure and a leg was cleanly knocked off. I used dominos (Festool) to do the joinery for the leg.

The dominos are still attached. Obviously, I can't simply re-glue things (the poor quality Mauritanian glue is likely the culprit here) so I'm curious how y'all would resolve this.

My first thought was to cut off the ends of the dominos and then simply make new domino holes in the same place the previous existed (simply cutting out the old ones), clean up all the glue residue, and then re-glue. Bad idea?

Cheers
Vaskerville is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-23-2015, 09:32 AM
World's Tallest Midget
 
Mort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 813
View Mort's Photo Album My Photos
I don't see why it wouldn't. If possible I would probably go up a size in Dominos but I'm not sure that would even matter.

I hate signatures.
Mort is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-23-2015, 11:04 PM
Uncle Fester
 
unclefester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 1,556
View unclefester's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mort
I don't see why it wouldn't. If possible I would probably go up a size in Dominos but I'm not sure that would even matter.
+1 I would upsize the domino for a cleaner hole if you have space

Cut it twice, measure once and it's still too short.
unclefester is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 07-23-2015, 11:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kamloops, B.C.
Posts: 444
View asevereid's Photo Album My Photos
Quick question about the re-boring a Domino hole.... Would you have to clamp the footplate down to the workpiece to get an accurate cut?
asevereid is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-24-2015, 09:46 AM
World's Tallest Midget
 
Mort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 813
View Mort's Photo Album My Photos
I wouldn't. I don't have a Domino yet, but in all the research I've done I've never seen it clamped to anything. If it was intended to have that done, I'm sure Festool would've integrated a clamp.

I hate signatures.
Mort is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Domino or Biscuit ShaneC70 General Woodworking Discussion 48 05-16-2015 09:07 AM
New for me....festool domino jimfong General Woodworking Discussion 12 09-09-2014 04:22 AM
Domino Table jcm5399 Project Showcase 11 10-07-2013 12:29 PM
domino joiner hillpanther Joinery 0 05-26-2013 04:08 AM
Festool Domino L1011 Power Tools & Machinery 7 03-15-2013 08:11 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome