Brilliant or Dumb idea? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 47 Old 03-30-2017, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 90
View mhhickma's Photo Album My Photos
Brilliant or Dumb idea?

Dust system. Currently I'm not interested in a real system and am making due with a rigid shop vacuum and a cyclone dust deputy. I'm satisfied with it overall.

Here are a the tools I run on the dust system from time to time.

Wen Planer
Cuttech Bench top jointer
Miter saw
Bench Sander

So here's the question.

Around me I can get a used shop vac for $20-$30. Is there any benefit to hooking up two shop vac's to the same collection hose? Do I gain anything by having two vacuums running at the same time on those machines? Of course they would be after the cyclone.

Does double the vacuums cause double the suction?

Or am I over engineering this and not getting a better result.

mhhickma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 Old 03-30-2017, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 4,232
View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
I don't think so.

If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when will you have time to do it over?
Toolman50 is offline  
post #3 of 47 Old 03-30-2017, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Catpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Frognot Texas
Posts: 2,267
View Catpower's Photo Album My Photos
It might be a little better but probably not measurable

But if you had like a 2x4x2 tee or wye and you could set the 4 inch as the inlet from the machine you would get quite a bit better airflow
Catpower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 47 Old 03-30-2017, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,343
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Do not hook to common hose/pipe. If you want to use two then keep them separate.

George
GeorgeC is offline  
post #5 of 47 Old 03-30-2017, 05:53 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,170
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
It won't cost much to find out

You can always use a second shop vac, I have 3 or 4 hooked to various machines, bandsaws, sanders and a RAS. To increase suction as an experiment, run both hoes to a Y fitting and then attach that to you main hose. Turn one vac on at a time, then both. See what happens at the other end.....

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 03-30-2017 at 06:47 PM.
woodnthings is online now  
post #6 of 47 Old 03-30-2017, 06:11 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 90
View mhhickma's Photo Album My Photos
George: if bout a Y fitting on top of the dust deputy would that work? Also why not combine into one hose prior to the cyclone?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mhhickma is offline  
post #7 of 47 Old 03-30-2017, 09:24 PM
The Nut in the Cellar
 
Jim Frye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 1,033
View Jim Frye's Photo Album My Photos
For dust collection, think CFM. What is the combined cfm of the two small shop vacs you are thinking about? I use a single ShopVac for all of the dust collection in my shop. This includes: table saw, band saw, miter saw, 13" planer, 6" jointer, oscillating spindle sander, mortising on the drill press, scroll saw, router table, and various sanders. I use 2 1/2", 1 1/2", and a 1" diameter hoses, depending on the application. The single vac handles all of these machines with ease. I use washable CleanStream pleated filters in the vac. When I was looking to purchase a new vac for the shop, I looked for one with the highest cfm I could find. The one I bought is an industrial rated unit and pulls 95 cfm. Yes, it was more expensive than your $30 vac, but it's nearly 20 years old and still going strong, and I will not likely need to purchase another one. The unit also features a tool triggered function, so you only have to turn on the tool that's plugged into it and it runs for 15 seconds after you turn the tool off to clear the hose. The single unit also takes up much less space in my 12'x22' shop. It works so well, I've foregone the idea of building a chip separator unit, relying on the 12 gallon tank capacity.
JohnTC likes this.

Jim Frye
I've gone out to find myself. If I return before I get back, have me wait for me.
"Sawdust is Man Glitter"
Jim Frye is offline  
post #8 of 47 Old 03-31-2017, 12:12 PM
The Nut in the Cellar
 
Jim Frye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 1,033
View Jim Frye's Photo Album My Photos
Added thought, and I don't know why I didn't think of this earlier. If the two vacs do not produce exactly the same cfm, you will not get the doubling effect you are seeking. Follow the KISS method and you'll have better results for your expenditure.

Jim Frye
I've gone out to find myself. If I return before I get back, have me wait for me.
"Sawdust is Man Glitter"
Jim Frye is offline  
post #9 of 47 Old 03-31-2017, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,652
View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
There is quite a bit of info, and many different opinions floating around the online world, one thing to be aware of apparently is to make sure there is enough capacity available through the line to allow enough air flow over the motors to cool them so as not to burn them out.

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
http://woodworkerglossary.com
FrankC is offline  
post #10 of 47 Old 03-31-2017, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 90
View mhhickma's Photo Album My Photos
Thanks everyone. I'm gonna keep the system I have and just save up to buy a cheaper dust collection system.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mhhickma is offline  
post #11 of 47 Old 03-31-2017, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
 
dodgeboy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 1,768
View dodgeboy77's Photo Album My Photos
Darn. I was hoping you'd try it and report back whether it worked.
woodnthings likes this.
dodgeboy77 is offline  
post #12 of 47 Old 06-02-2018, 10:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 35
View okbear's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeboy77 View Post
Darn. I was hoping you'd try it and report back whether it worked.
I know this is an older thread but thought I’d pipe up and say I’m about to try it. Any input is welcome. So the setup will most likely be:

2 145 cfm (they say) shop vacs —> Y —> Dust Deputy (the smaller one) mounted on a 30 gallon rigid food grade barrel with a sealed top (lock ring). The barrel is very solid so I don’t think there will be any issues with it collapsing. I probably should have checked in here first as I already have the dust deputy. I have a 30x50 shop with 14’ walls that serves many purposes. Two of those are my wood working and my wife’s refinishing of old furniture. We quickly found out that my wood working makes her finishing in the shop impossible. So she is currently doing her prep work in the shop and finishing in the garage.

My plan is to run pvc the length of the shop up high and T off wherever I need to. Then come down with flexible hose. I understand this will require blast gates. Current tools are a table saw, miter saw and a sander. I also have the Kreg K5 system. I may do a floor sweep as well.

So you now know as much as I do about my plan. lol. Questions I have for you guys are what size pvc to run? What size flex hose? I do have one 20’ section of 2.5” flexible shop vac hose coming but it wasn’t much if I don’t end up using it.

I noticed in the diy guide that comes with the dust deputy that there were no suggestions that include expanding the system without buying another dust deputy or two. I kinda figure they don’t want to include any ideas that don’t involve you giving them some more of your money. lol
Woodified likes this.

Last edited by okbear; 06-02-2018 at 10:35 PM.
okbear is offline  
post #13 of 47 Old 06-02-2018, 10:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,995
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Two vacuums, I would be inclined to hook one up to half the equipment and the other for the rest.
okbear likes this.
Steve Neul is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
okbear (06-03-2018)
post #14 of 47 Old 06-02-2018, 11:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 4,232
View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
Depending on the brand, the shop vacuum can be one of the loudest machines in the shop. I don’t want the noise of two running at once. Let us know if you try two and it makes a big difference.
okbear likes this.

If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when will you have time to do it over?
Toolman50 is offline  
post #15 of 47 Old 06-03-2018, 12:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 35
View okbear's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolman50 View Post
Depending on the brand, the shop vacuum can be one of the loudest machines in the shop. I don’t want the noise of two running at once. Let us know if you try two and it makes a big difference.
Will do. I’ll document the process and performance if y’all want. It’s noisy but no worse than my miter saw or sanded. The one I have is a shop vac 6 peak hp 12 gal. I can get a deal at Lowes with my contractor account so I’ll just pick up another one of the same.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4D1DC10B-0150-4E65-8212-377B491CCB00.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	139.0 KB
ID:	362073  

okbear is offline  
post #16 of 47 Old 06-03-2018, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: N. Strabane PA (South of Pittsburgh)
Posts: 281
View regesullivan's Photo Album My Photos
Check out the dust collection videos from Stumpy Nubs. This Stumpy Nubs video,
where he put two Harbor Freight dust collectors together and ran a few tests to measure the results might answer some of your questions.
okbear likes this.
regesullivan is online now  
post #17 of 47 Old 06-03-2018, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 35
View okbear's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by regesullivan View Post
Check out the dust collection videos from Stumpy Nubs. This Stumpy Nubs video, Dust Collection Finale- My HOMEMADE Cyclone vs Clear Vue View CV1800 Woodworking w/ Stumpy Nubs 31 - YouTube where he put two Harbor Freight dust collectors together and ran a few tests to measure the results might answer some of your questions.
Yes. I have seen those. I’ve been researching for a bit.
okbear is offline  
post #18 of 47 Old 06-03-2018, 12:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 35
View okbear's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Neul View Post
Two vacuums, I would be inclined to hook one up to half the equipment and the other for the rest.
Yes. But if I can avoid buying another dust deputy, I would like to. If this hobby continues I’ll most likely do something much more “higher end” at some point.
okbear is offline  
post #19 of 47 Old 06-03-2018, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,995
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by okbear View Post
Yes. But if I can avoid buying another dust deputy, I would like to. If this hobby continues I’ll most likely do something much more “higher end” at some point.
You might try the old fashion system. For the first 40 years in my woodworking career dust control was a broom and dust pan. I mainly bought a dust collector because I bought a table saw that required one.
AmishElectricCo likes this.
Steve Neul is offline  
post #20 of 47 Old 06-03-2018, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 35
View okbear's Photo Album My Photos
So given what I’m thinking, what size pvc would y’all run up high? I’m thinking 3” or 4” but I don’t want to induce clogs. Probably 3”. I don’t want to cause an issue with suction in the larger pvc as I think the flex hose will be 2.5” and the openings on the dust deputy are 2”. I don’t know how much smaller openings and larger pipe changes will affect cfm and I couldn’t find anything on the web. I think the pvc part of this project will be the most labor intensive. I have scaffold on casters in my shop but it’s a lot of up and down.
okbear is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Work Tables, stations, etc. an idea StampBear General Woodworking Discussion 15 03-15-2017 04:11 PM
Work station idea...will it work? OutdoorSeeker Design & Plans 0 01-19-2017 08:34 PM
Need clever idea to keep stuff out from under furniture Sleeper General Woodworking Discussion 8 09-19-2016 10:11 AM
Feel free to steal my idea! Masterofnone General Woodworking Discussion 6 04-10-2016 06:41 AM
having a design idea i need your help shayvidas General Woodworking Discussion 8 03-03-2016 08:42 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome