Box joints in the end of a long board - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 17Likes

post #1 of 26 Old 04-05-2020, 08:42 PM Thread Starter
Just figuring it out

View Dave Mills's Photo Album My Photos
Box joints in the end of a long board

I'm making a bookshelf, it's 7ft long. I'd like to use a box joint to connect the ends to the verticals, but the only jigs I've seen, home made or purchased, require the board standing up on your table saw or router. I can't imagine it's too practical running a 7ft board along my saw or router table on end. What I'd like is some method where the board is flat and my router can be held horizontally to make the passes across the end.

Has anyone seen such a jig, or is hand-cutting :shiver: the only way?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 04-05-2020, 09:10 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
Roy Underhill would use a back saw and coping saw.

TobyC, Kerrys and JamesTinKS like this.

I am a painter: that's what I do, I like to paint things.
post #3 of 26 Old 04-05-2020, 09:34 PM

View homestd's Photo Album My Photos
I hope you're in a hurry to get this done...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 Old 04-05-2020, 09:39 PM Thread Starter
Just figuring it out

Quote:
Originally Posted by homestd View Post
I'm not following you? I'm possibly stuck in the house for a long time, so actually no rush.
post #5 of 26 Old 04-05-2020, 09:50 PM

View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos
Frankly, I like the marking and hand-sawing approach the best.

This jig might work for you. Watch this video:

Here is the website with the plans:
https://www.woodsmithshop.com/episodes/season12/1207/