Bookshelf - advice on assembly - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 04-04-2020, 01:20 PM Thread Starter

View jchester404's Photo Album My Photos
Bookshelf - advice on assembly

Hello. I'm new to woodworking and wanted to start tackling a little more challenging projects. I came across a bookshelf that I'd like to make for my daughters room here: https://imgur.com/gallery/yTCt12K

I was wondering what the proper way of assembling this bookshelf is. I'll give a list of what I'm looking for specifically.

First, the shelves. The link that I sent was part of a forum I found on reddit. The original maker screwed the shelves in from the back. If I wanted to avoid screws how would I go about installing them? Would dados with glue work? Or should I use dowels and then sandwich the shelves together when I install the walls of the bookshelf?

Second, the creator used the full diagonal piece breaking up the shelves in the process. Is this correct or should the shelves be one piece and the diagonal piece be split into sections? Also, what is the best way to attach said diagonal piece? It seems very difficult to cut a diagonal groove in the back.

Lastly, a more simple question. How do I assemble the walls of the bookshelf to the back and base?

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm trying to learn proper ways of doing things so I can better my ability. Thank you for any help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 04-04-2020, 02:06 PM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum! Add your first name to your signature line so we'll know what to call you. Add your location to your profile so it shows in the side panel.

You'll get better results if you upload the photo here rather than posting a link. Very few will click on a link to view a photo and fewer still if the member is new here.

Holler if you need help with uploading and posting the photo here.

David

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy