Best wood for outdoor sign? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 02-08-2010, 08:57 AM Thread Starter

View colin72's Photo Album My Photos
Best wood for outdoor sign?

Hi

You know those outdoor signs with the changeable acrylic letters that businesses use to advertise things on? I'm attempting to make one. I can buy the acrylic letters and the tracks that the letters slide into. I'm unsure of what material to use as the "board".

The sign will be 30" x 52". It will hang outdoors for 8 hours 6 days a week (in central PA). The lettering will be on both sides.

Obviously it is important that the board doesn't warp. Because it will be put up and taken down daily, it is important that it be as light weight as possible.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to woodworking so I'm in the dark as to what kind of wood would be best. If it lasts for 10 years and I have to replace the wood, that would be fine.

Thanks for your help and advice!
Colin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 02-08-2010, 09:04 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
MDO plywood is good

http://video.bobvila.com/m/21315241/mdo-plywood.htm bill

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #3 of 13 Old 02-08-2010, 09:18 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodnthings View Post

Thanks Bill!

After I paint the MDO with exterior paint, should I use a varnish or something? Again, you'll have to excuse my ignorance as I'm a novice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old 02-08-2010, 11:18 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I'm not a finishing expert

But I would use a quality primer and then a top coat meant for exterior use. Sorry can't recommend brands. My outdoor painting is confined to