Best tool for cutting boards in half, not crosscut. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By Pirate

post #1 of 16 Old 04-06-2016, 02:08 PM Thread Starter

View sparky99's Photo Album My Photos
Best tool for cutting boards in half, not crosscut.

Hi I am pretty much a beginner at most carpentry things. I would like opinions on how to cut a 1 inch thick 8ft long, 8 inch wide pine boards to make 2 half inch thick boards, to use as siding for my shed (that way I can buy 60 boards and get 120 after cutting them) I only have enough money to buy either a table saw or a band saw (the kinds weekend handymen use). I think I read that a standard homeowners table saw blade can be adjusted to 4 inches or so above the table and so I would have to cut each board twice with a table saw. I've never used a band saw before so I know nothing about them. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 04-06-2016, 02:14 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
An 8" wide board is pretty difficult to re-saw. The tool you would use would be a pretty good size bandsaw. It would be so much easier to take two boards and surface them down to 1/2" through a planer.
post #3 of 16 Old 04-06-2016, 02:19 PM Thread Starter

Thanks Steve. So you think I would need a heavier duty, like professional grade band saw ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 Old 04-06-2016, 03:46 PM

View Tony B's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky99 View Post
......I only have enough money to buy either a table saw or a band saw (the kinds weekend handymen use)..........
I dont exactly know what you are talking about unless you give the price range you are willing to spend. If you are talking a cheap saw, neither a cheap table saw nor cheap bandsaw will do the trick.