Beginner having trouble with poly on hardwood floor - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By CaptainMike

post #1 of 9 Old 10-15-2017, 01:03 PM Thread Starter

View nodeal's Photo Album My Photos
Beginner having trouble with poly on hardwood floor

Hi all,

Recently I had my hardwood floors done by a floor guy. He did a light buff and fresh coat of poly, and I noticed after the poly dried there was some puddling in a spot in the hall way along with some dry areas where the wood absorbed more of the poly than the rest of the floor. I decided to try and fix these issues myself. Unfortunately because I am new at this I feel I made things worse than they were and I am hoping to get some advice here.

My initial plan was simple enough. I planned on just brushing over the dry spots with a coat of poly. For the area that had puddling, I took 100-grit sand paper and lightly sanded down the puddles, then re-coat. Unfortunately this is easier said than done, and I am having some issues.

My first coat I used a foam brush and my technique was terrible. Rather than having smooth continuous strokes, I treated it like a paint brush and did back and forth motions. Now I have horrible brush strokes dried into the coat of poly that is terribly noticeable. To fix this, I tried doing a second coat of poly thinking it would cover it up, but it did not cover it at all, just created a layer of poly on top of it. Although my technique was much better for the second coat, I noticed a lot of bubbling in the poly this time. I am not sure if this is because I used a foam brush, or if my technique is still off. I did gently stir the poly before use, so not sure what happened here. I would really like to have these bubbles out because they do not look nice at all.