Bandsaw Blade 5/16” not Available - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Pretender
  • 1 Post By Dave McCann
  • 2 Post By woodnthings
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 07-13-2020, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 12
View Grandfather's Photo Album My Photos
Bandsaw Blade 5/16” not Available

I bought a used bandsaw at a garage sale, the tires were cracked and the bearings frozen and I replaced them. But now I find out it says this model Only Takes a 93.5” x 5/16” blade and nothing else. Can’t find a woodcutting blade in this size anywhere on the internet and custom blades are mainly for metal and start at 100”. It must have been a proprietary blade width that came with the saw when new. Has anyone else had this problem or know a source for 5/16” width blades.
Thanks
Nolan
Grandfather is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 07-13-2020, 06:51 PM
Moderator
 
John Smith_inFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,616
View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
Nolan - please include the brand name and model number
of the saw for the most accurate assistance.

oh, and we like photos too. especially if you think you have something
unique with unique parts and requirements.


.

there is no educational alternative to having a front row seat in the School of Hard Knocks.

Last edited by John Smith_inFL; 07-13-2020 at 06:56 PM.
John Smith_inFL is online now  
post #3 of 15 Old 07-13-2020, 07:35 PM
Mike
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Lawrenceville Ga.
Posts: 127
View Pretender's Photo Album My Photos
What limits it to 5/16" only.
What keeps it from using a 1/4" or 3/8"?
NoThankyou likes this.
Pretender is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 07-14-2020, 03:37 AM
Village Idiot
 
epicfail48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 4,934
View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos
I got $20 that says you can run a 1/4" blade on that thing. At worst itll require very minor modifications to the blade guides

I need cheaper hobby
etsy.com/shop/projectepicfail
epicfail48 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 07-14-2020, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2,842
View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos
I buy bandsaw blades from a local shop that has large spools of quality brand blades, and a special, extra high quality welding machine that welds the blade to whatever length you specify. They sell mail order all over the country. Give them a call.

http://www.industrialblade.net

They aren't the only company that does that. I like them because I drive up to the shop and get what I need, made on the spot, at a reasonable price.

I have never heard of a bandsaw that requires one specific blade width only. Frankly, it does not make much sense to me that someone would produce a bandsaw like that. What model bandsaw do you have? Can you post photos, including closeup photos of the blade guides, top and bottom?
Tool Agnostic is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 07-14-2020, 10:45 AM
Moderator
 
John Smith_inFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,616
View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandfather View Post
it says this model Only Takes a 93.5 x 00.00"
Thanks
Nolan
until Nolan comes back; isn't the 93.5" blade standard for a 14" bandsaw?
I am thinking that the previous owner probably made a handwritten note
about the 5/16" blade because that is what the blade guides are set up for.
and of course we know, the guides can be adjusted to any blade you put on it.

Nolan: we are awaiting your return with breathless anticipation.

.

there is no educational alternative to having a front row seat in the School of Hard Knocks.
John Smith_inFL is online now  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-14-2020, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 12
View Grandfather's Photo Album My Photos
Okay guys these are the photos, Problem a 93.5 x 3/8 Olson had too much slack. I have ordered a 92.5” x 1/2 blade which arrives next week. I removed rust, painted base and interior frame, replaced the blade bearings and blocks/guides and tires. It ran when I bought it.
Now I’m wondering about whether it needs crowned tires rather than the flat Urethane ones I installed. The old ones were cracked and in pieces and unfortunately I never thought to measure the tire thickness of the old ones.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EB2B2A62-67CB-4FA5-AA26-DCC4A9BFE0CC_1594740550282.jpg (407.7 KB, 50 views)
File Type: jpg 21F13BF2-1AFE-4569-ACD8-EACC15AA7220_1594740595576.jpg (386.2 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg DA5B0C1D-0E53-4C31-9350-116FE7F3440F_1594740629523.jpg (327.4 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg BF470C07-6BF3-40D2-A7EE-6D43C0DC9B07_1594740662154.jpg (400.2 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg CDEA3DE4-AA98-4AD0-87BF-C230D31A47A2_1594740709962.jpg (319.5 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg 0C413F54-E2D3-4311-A91F-DFDD2371AA7A_1594740749235.jpg (340.2 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg 39BAD788-23A1-4F75-8B79-DED1E4608AD7_1594740781485.jpg (329.7 KB, 44 views)
Grandfather is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-14-2020, 12:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 66
View Dave McCann's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandfather View Post
Okay guys these are the photos, Problem a 93.5 x 3/8 Olson had too much slack. I have ordered a 92.5” x 1/2 blade which arrives next week. I removed rust, painted base and interior frame, replaced the blade bearings and blocks/guides and tires. It ran when I bought it.
Now I’m wondering about whether it needs crowned tires rather than the flat Urethane ones I installed. The old ones were cracked and in pieces and unfortunately I never thought to measure the tire thickness of the old ones.
Usually the "tires" are NOT crowned. The tire itself is the same thickness all the way across. It is the WHEEL which is crowned and the tire conforms to the shape of the wheel.

I do hope the blade length you ordered works for you. The pictures show a pretty standard set up and nothing seems out of the ordinary, except maybe the speed reduction on the drive belt.

PS. Your friends earlier suggestion of a .500 shim under the upper unit may be your best overall long term solution if needed. The shim could be what ever thickness required to achieve the desired results.
John Smith_inFL likes this.

Last edited by Dave McCann; 07-14-2020 at 12:06 PM.
Dave McCann is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-14-2020, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 12
View Grandfather's Photo Album My Photos
These are some before & after photos, I still plan to detail and repaint silver top frame and covers but I want it to work first. As you can see it does specify a 93.5” x 5/16” blade which no one makes. When I bought it at a yard sale I asked if it work take 1/2” blade and 80+ year old gentleman said yes. So we shall see. Thanks for all the help and suggestions, I don’t feel alone. You may think that 35 year old bandsaw is old... my table saw is a 1953 Montgomery Ward Powr Kraft. It was rusted and non running and I gave $5 for it. The switch didn’t work and an electrical repair store charged me $25 to fix and he bench tested it and said “ it is the finest electrical motor I’ve ever seen”. Very heavy gauge steel frame. I’ve since added two 5” oak bat-wings on the sides which gives the table a 36” width and allows me to use an 18” Incra 1000 miter on it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 17AA3DC9-A2EC-409F-B67F-7950529398CC_1594743479456.jpg (497.5 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg 5709E997-ED7B-4EC3-A9B7-B9ADD6C29406_1594743518953.jpg (280.5 KB, 32 views)
Grandfather is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-14-2020, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NW Pa
Posts: 2,973
View TimPa's Photo Album My Photos
as mentioned - MANY places will make your blade to suit your needs. they make them all day long. i suspect that the 5/16" width was just what it was delivered with. your blade guides - cool blocks and thrust bearing - appear to be totally adjustable (standard) for different width blades.

enjoy your saw, it looks like a nice one!
TimPa is online now  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-14-2020, 12:37 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,327
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I'll bet the new tire are thinner ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandfather View Post
Okay guys these are the photos, Problem a 93.5 x 3/8 Olson had too much slack. I have ordered a 92.5” x 1/2 blade which arrives next week. I removed rust, painted base and interior frame, replaced the blade bearings and blocks/guides and tires. It ran when I bought it.
Now I’m wondering about whether it needs crowned tires rather than the flat Urethane ones I installed. The old ones were cracked and in pieces and unfortunately I never thought to measure the tire thickness of the old ones.



See how the tires sit below the rim rather than flush or just above it.
Seems like they may be thinner the the original ones......

If you have a section of the old tire, compare it to the new ones. If it's thinner, that's why the blade seemed too long ....less diameter to wrap around on the tires. In addition, you said the the new blade fit inside the old blade blade when both were laid flat. That would also compound the issue. Hopefully your new blade will fit.

TimPa and hawkeye10 like this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to woodnthings For This Useful Post:
hawkeye10 (07-14-2020)
post #12 of 15 Old 07-14-2020, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: N. Strabane PA (South of Pittsburgh)
Posts: 282
View regesullivan's Photo Album My Photos
That saw is a pretty standard casting used for plenty of 14" bandsaw. Check out a new Harbor Freight saw for instance, either the wood or combination metal/wood saw. Both will look very familiar to your saw and most if not all parts will be interchangeable to some degree.

People will nock it as cheap machine but none of the under $1,000 saws are much better. A little time and tuning makes it a pretty nice machine. Oh... it will take any size 93.5" blade up to about 5/8 in my experience. You will need to adjust tension and tracking everytime you change or remove and replace blades.
regesullivan is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-15-2020, 12:57 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 12
View Grandfather's Photo Album My Photos
Thanks for the feedback, I will try the 92.5” blade when it arrives, if the tires are thinner then this may make the difference, if not then I will try to locate some older style rubber crowned glue on tires—if I can find them...and go back to a 93.5” blade.
Nolan
Grandfather is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-15-2020, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: N. Strabane PA (South of Pittsburgh)
Posts: 282
View regesullivan's Photo Album My Photos
Something else to check... it is possible the tensioner was replaced with another style. I happened to think about this when changing blades on one of my saws I had to modify slightly because I couldn't find the correct part. I took the upper wheel off and took pictures of the mods for you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200715_192941_1594856179501.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	286.4 KB
ID:	392503  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200715_133027_1594856192222.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	182.2 KB
ID:	392505  


Last edited by regesullivan; 07-15-2020 at 07:40 PM.
regesullivan is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-15-2020, 07:54 PM
Hobbyist wood-butcher
 
thegrgyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Saint Charles, IL
Posts: 1,578
View thegrgyle's Photo Album My Photos
Yep, as everyone said, that is a very typical bandsaw setup, and you should be able to use many different width blades on there. Keep in mind that as you change widths, that you should reset all the guides and bearings accordingly to optimize your saws performance.

Below is a youtube to show you exactly how its done on most bandsaws.


Fabian

I used to be fairly indecisive, but now....... I'm not so sure.
thegrgyle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome