Bandsaw blade - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 04-16-2020, 05:32 PM Thread Starter

View MrRyan's Photo Album My Photos
Bandsaw blade

Just bought a Laguna bandsaw. Put it together today and went to install a 3/8 Laguna blade and as I was adjusting the tracking one spot keeps standing out. The blade twists and the teeth go way out of alignment for maybe an inch then the blade is straight again. Is this something normal from the way blades are twisted during packaging and maybe it will flatten out? Or do I need to return it? It’s definitely noticeable with the naked eye as you turn the wheel by hand. I would think it’d greatly affect the cut, but I’m a bandsaw novice....hard to see in this pic but it’s easy to see in person.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F9B9EDAF-ABC7-4529-BEA9-04A927D8CF40_1587072705608.jpg (216.7 KB, 36 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-16-2020, 09:15 PM

View Quickstep's Photo Album My Photos
That looks like a kink to me. Not good.

I'm not familiar with Laguna, but the blades that come with saws often aren't the best. Getting a good blade that's ideal for your intended use is something worth doing. I recently got a Carter AccuRite and it's great. Not too pricey at $25. I also have a wide carbide blade for re-sawing. It was expensive, but it's a dream for re-sawing.
post #3 of 9 Old 04-16-2020, 09:22 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
That blade is bent.

Return it for a new one. Watch a You Tube on how to coil a bandsaw blade IF you don't know how. I've been doing it for years and it's now second nature to me. Send it back ASAP but call first if you can get through ask for a RMA number:
https://www.google.com/search?channe...d&q=RMA+number

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)