4Likes
  • 1 Post By Tool Agnostic
  • 1 Post By brucet999
  • 1 Post By Quickstep
  • 1 Post By Tool Agnostic

post #1 of 20 Old 09-27-2020, 08:46 PM Thread Starter

View wjfeeney@hotmail.com's Photo Album My Photos
Band Saw Resaw Questions

I recently was experimenting on my new Jet band saw re-sawing a piece of Poplar and Red Oak using a 1/2" 3 TPI new blade. What I saw was a pretty rough cut and I'm wondering if this is normal given the 3 tpi blade or maybe technique? Thanks, BillF

Bill F.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 09-27-2020, 10:06 PM
Just figuring it out

View Dave Mills's Photo Album My Photos
Hi Bill, I'm new to bandsaws as well, so I only post this so you have a data point, not for some implied wisdom in the post :).

I have a new Harvey HW615, 15" saw, that came with a 3/4" 3 TPI blade. Here's a reasonably close photo of a resaw cut I made, the piece is about 3/8" thick for scale. It needed a run through the jointer because in addition to the rough cut, it cupped after I cut it. It certainly needed finish work more than just some sanding. I have a 6tpi blade on order, so I'll find out soon whether that would make a smoother cut.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1673.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	128.3 KB
ID:	396059  

post #3 of 20 Old 09-27-2020, 11:24 PM

View Quickstep's Photo Album My Photos
I'm not an expert, but I find that I get the best re-saw results when the bottom of the board being resawn is dead square. Setup and blade tension is critical. I've found you really need to crank up the tension on the blade to re-saw. A better blade tension spring helps. Feed rate is also important; every time you stop, pressure on the blade changes causing it to move around a bit, creating ridges.

I got a 3/4" carbide re-saw blade years ago. It was expensive, but man is it nice.

Here's a link to the spring.

https://www.highlandwoodworking.com/...abandsaws.aspx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement