Assembling a bed - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 06-16-2013, 12:33 PM Thread Starter

View eaglewso's Photo Album My Photos
Assembling a bed

So I have undertaken the task to build my wife and I a new bed. We know the look we are going for, but not sure how to go about putting it all together. The assembly of the head and foot boards should be simple, but what I am hung up on is the frame rails to the head and foot board.

We are both military so we will be moving regularly, which means the bed must be able to be taken apart into separate pieces (head, foot, side rails) and re-assembled at our next house.

What methods out there are suitable for this need and are within the reach of a novice woodworker? I'm just a hobbyist with a few basic tools (compound miter saw, circular saw, router, drill, but no jigsaw or table saw yet). Are there any ways to put a bed together that will suit my requirement? I looked into the "bed bolt" joint and it looks a little more technical than my abilities allow. My wife had suggested just getting a metal bed frame and attaching the boards to all sides but I want to do this 100% myself if I can, not just slapping a facade on a cheapo frame
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 06-16-2013, 12:59 PM

View amckenzie4's Photo Album My Photos
You can buy knock-down hardware that just screws in place, and is designed to hold a bed together.

I know WoodCraft sells them (link), and you can get them a lot of other places too.
post #3 of 12 Old 06-16-2013, 02:32 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Here's a pretty good selection that you could use.
http://woodworking.rockler.com/searc...ail%20hardware

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 Old 06-17-2013, 08:20 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Does Seymour Johnson still have an open wood hobby shop? If so that would be a good place to use a table saw and get same assistance from the shop keeper.

George