Annoyingly Simple Question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 06-14-2013, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
Complete Newbie

View Helipacter's Photo Album My Photos
Annoyingly Simple Question

(Please fight the urge to roll your eyes as you read this...)

Hi,

I´m new(ish) to woodwork and I´ve decided to take the plunge after a few smaller projects and build a large drawer unit for our kitchen.

I´ve got a general design in mind (pg 100 in Collin's Complete Woodwork Manual) but, my annoyingly simple question is: how do you go about adding your details to a very vanilla plan? The outer dimensions will be easy, but I'm thinking of tips for planning for the smaller pieces inside the project as well as things like tenons and joints.

So basically I'm asking more for advice from the more experienced people out there on how they sketch and plan their ideas.

Any links for beginners would be welcome!

All the best, and thanks for reading,
Russell

Last edited by Helipacter; 06-14-2013 at 04:59 PM. Reason: clarification
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 06-14-2013, 06:35 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
OH Lordy (:< 0

Details come in 2 types: design and construction.

Things like visible mortise and tenon joinery or dovetails, dowels, wood grain variations or complements, book matching panels etc are construction methods that add detail and personalize the project. The overall size and proportions are independent of these details.

Design "details" are more like the proportions of the major pieces, the use of glass or other kinds of panels, the light vs dark of stain or colors, contrasts of materials like wood/stone/tile either for accents or they can be integrated into the design itself. What's the design/piece look like in other words....?