Alternative to a drill press? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 06-19-2014, 12:08 PM Thread Starter

View nholcroftsd's Photo Album My Photos
Alternative to a drill press?

Hi guys, this is my 1st post here, and was hoping to get a little advice. I have been making surfboard racks for over 2 years now, and I have been using a drill press with a 3/4" forester bit to make the holes for the dowels. I then put the dowels in the holes and that is what holds the boards up. The site should give you a better understanding.

So my problem is- The dowels are never EXACTLY lined up. One always seems to go up or down a quarter or half inch. Let me rephrase that- They are lined up just fine but one always seems to go off in a slightly different direction than the others. I take my time while using the drill press, and line everything up correctly, so my thought is that its the drill press or the dowels that cause the misalignment.

Anyone have any ideas on how to fix this? Maybe technique or a different tool I could use?

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 06-19-2014, 12:51 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
If you are using a drill press to drill the holes it is a pretty good bet that it is technique, and the drill press is not to blame. With a Forestner bit you should be getting good clean holes so it likely comes down to the dowels. Dowelling is not always consistent, diameter from dowel may vary, unless they are hardwood they may not even be exactly round, it must be a tight fit in the hole or it will move on you.

I was not able to access the site in your link so I am not really exactly sure what you are doing.

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
http://woodworkerglossary.com
post #3 of 13 Old 06-19-2014, 02:57 PM

View bauerbach's Photo Album My Photos