Advice on cutting out a long notch for a drawer slide. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings

post #1 of 11 Old 08-25-2018, 07:00 PM Thread Starter

View drawerslide's Photo Album My Photos
Advice on cutting out a long notch for a drawer slide.

Note: I have no knowledge of woodworking.

I was thinking of using a router (which I do not have) to notch out sections to fit 10 drawer slides. I do have a Black & Decker rotary tool with a router type accessory with a drill type bit, but think an actual router tool would be better, plus would take too long to notch out ten 18" sections with the rotary tool.

I have this..
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0000302YS...d-777fa7fb2507

Would this be easier and faster? I would just need a 1 3/8" bit for the height of the slide, I can adjust the router for the depth?
https://www.amazon.com/PORTER-CABLE-...ds=router+tool

I have an already built MDF / particle board dresser and will be installing full extension drawer slides. Drawer slides need 1/2" clearance on each side. I only have about 1/8" clearance on each side. I will need to cut out 10 notches on the dresser sides to place the slides into. So the notch would have to be 18" long x 1 3/8" high x 1/2" wide.

I don't think notching out on the drawer would work as the drawer thickness is about 1/2" and no room inside for shims, plus the drawer front extends past the sides so no room for a router at the front, as the drawer front would be in the way.

So far this is what I have come up with (tell me where I'm wrong)

Remove the drawers
Mark a straight line above each current drawer slide on the wall sides of the dresser
Remove the old slides from the dresser wall sides
Place the bottom of the new drawer slides against the line from the old slides and mark a straight line across the top and both ends