Access to jointer/planer for apartment dwellers? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By shoot summ

post #1 of 17 Old 06-18-2020, 09:20 AM Thread Starter

View baserock love's Photo Album My Photos
Access to jointer/planer for apartment dwellers?

I'm very new to this but I just got access to a table saw and picked up my first couple tools and am doing my first simple beginner product which is modifying and customer finishing a dresser and I'm really in love with this! I'm an artist and I think this will be a great new outlet for me.

I'm aware of the techniques for at least squaring edges on a table saw using a jig (No router yet.) which i plan to make but I'm already 3d modeling up plans for my first small from-scratch furniture project. Given how massive and/or expensive most joiners/planers are and the space limitations a lot of people have do hardwood or any lumber stores have planing and jointing services? Is that a thing? It seems like a service that would be offered for cheap. I will definitely need to glue up some panels and the thicknesses are of course not uniform with any of the home store wood and I don't think i got any other options for hard wood out here..

How do you guys without access to this equipment deal with this? Anybody in brazos county texas wanna trade occasional jointer/planer access for beer?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 06-18-2020, 09:43 AM
Smart and Cool

View shoot summ's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by baserock love View Post
I'm very new to this but I just got access to a table saw and picked up my first couple tools and am doing my first simple beginner product which is modifying and customer finishing a dresser and I'm really in love with this! I'm an artist and I think this will be a great new outlet for me.