5g and some change. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 16Likes

post #1 of 48 Old 03-05-2019, 01:32 PM Thread Starter

View Bdillon's Photo Album My Photos
5g and some change.

Almost a complete newbie here with a ideal and a little money to throw at it.

I want to build as much of my new house as possible in about three years. One of the resources I will be using is pallet wood as I have access to useable (free of chemicals) pallets for free. I plan on, as of now, using this resource for floors, countertops, and anything else we can think of that makes sense. I’m also thinking about making my own doors, windows, and whatever else I could learn to make in the next three years.

I have a some room to put in a wood shop and between 5 and 6 grand to buy equipment some core equipment to get me going.

I have a cheap miter and bandsaw now, and a few hand tools.

My question is this. What should I buy? I was thinking 36” Sawstop, 6” jointer, plainer, and dust collector. I’m limited to 115v for.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 48 Old 03-05-2019, 02:19 PM
Interested Observer

View subroc's Photo Album My Photos
I have never built a house. I have little practical knowledge. I will ask, are you prepared for the significant increase in time needed to use salvaged wood?

I wish you good fortune in your upcoming project.
post #3 of 48 Old 03-05-2019, 03:28 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by subroc View Post
I have never built a house. I have little practical knowledge. I will ask, are you prepared for the significant increase in time needed to use salvaged wood?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 48 Old 03-05-2019, 03:37 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
How long do you expect this house building project to take?

Finding pallet wood that is suitable for use in eating area could be a problem.

George
post #5 of 48 Old 03-05-2019, 03:39 PM

View Pineknot_86's Photo Album My Photos