2 part epoxy - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Cowboy18
  • 1 Post By TTOKC

post #1 of 12 Old 11-01-2017, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
Sawdust Maker

View TTOKC's Photo Album My Photos
2 part epoxy

I am working on a table with some reclaimed lumber that has some splits in it that I have been filling with 2 part epoxy. This is my first time using anything besides a small dab of 5 minute epoxy in the little tubes from Lowes and I have been learning some of the pros and cons to making it a 1/2 cup at a time.

My question is, can I add a little bit of the stain that I will use on the table to color match the epoxy? Or will it adversely affect the epoxy?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 11-01-2017, 06:38 PM
Village Idiot

View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTOKC View Post
I am working on a table with some reclaimed lumber that has some splits in it that I have been filling with 2 part epoxy. This is my first time using anything besides a small dab of 5 minute epoxy in the little tubes from Lowes and I have been learning some of the pros and cons to making it a 1/2 cup at a time.

My question is, can I add a little bit of the stain that I will use on the table to color match the epoxy? Or will it adversely affect the epoxy?
It'll adversely affect the epoxy. There are some colorants that can be used in epoxy, wood stain is not one of them

I need cheaper hobby
etsy.com/shop/projectepicfail
post #3 of 12 Old 11-01-2017, 06:47 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
It will ruin the epoxy to add wood stain to it. You need to use a pigment made for epoxy. http://www.ebay.com/bhp/epoxy-resin-colorant

Can you post a picture? 1/2 cup of epoxy at a time, that's an awful lot of epoxy to be filling with. Be sure to let it dry a couple weeks before sanding it. Epoxy like everything else shrinks and you need to let it harden completely before sanding.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement