What would you pay? HELP! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 04-26-2011, 08:15 AM Thread Starter

View ArickMiller's Photo Album My Photos
What would you pay? HELP!

Morning all!
I few months ago i posted a picture of the baby changing table i made. Well now i have quite a few people who want me to make things for them. My issue is pricing. I am new to this so my work im sure isnt 100% perfect but i wouldnt sell anything i wouldnt put in my home. I recently built this provect below. 18 shelves 6 doors with a shelve in each door. I had about 30 hours making it. It is going to be painted so i used wood screws and glue. putty where needed. He is going to paint it after i install it. I have no clue what i should charge so anyhelp would be great. I have $250 out of pocket to make it

THANKS!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 04-26-2011, 08:50 AM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
$250 for materials plus 30xwhatever hourly wage you want to make. Also depends if friend, family or whoever. For smaller projects, I typically use a formula of labor = 3xmaterial costs.

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
post #3 of 15 Old 04-26-2011, 08:54 AM Thread Starter

Thank you! it is a co worker. and like i said i am just gettin goin with this wood work thing. I cant get enough of it but i need to get my pricing down. Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 04-26-2011, 09:36 AM

View NorCal Scot's Photo Album My Photos
Plus, add about 10% of total cost to cover overhead and carrying costs, i.e, gas to get lumber, electricity, holding material time between buying wood and selling project, etc. Or, you can mark up can markup your materials 30- 50% to cover the extra costs. You have to account for all the little and unknown costs that could end up eating you alive. Good luck making money doing what you love!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to NorCal Scot For This Useful Post: