What type of wood for a built in study - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 02-18-2011, 12:49 AM Thread Starter

View datoney's Photo Album My Photos
Question What type of wood for a built in study

Hi all, I am a newbie to this forum, this is my 1st post. I am looking at building a study. I plan on building all of the cabinets myself and giving it a built in look. I will be staining the wood, no paint! I want the end product to look beautiful. So here is my question, what type of wood do you think I should use, here are some things I am thinking. No Oak, to expensive and I don't like the grain, also very 70's, 80's kitchen look (no offense to anyone with oak!!!! ), I want a wood that is not to expensive, that is easy to work with (no pine!). only the cabinet doors, draws and drawer fronts and frame around the cabinets need to be real wood the rest of the cabinet can be made of other material....suggestions please :) Any pointers would be much appreciated as I am still a bit of a novice at the art, but I truly love it.

Thanks

datoney
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 02-18-2011, 01:42 AM

View loosebolt's Photo Album My Photos
cherry, maple and quarter-sawn oak to name a few. not a fan of oak ether but love the look of quarter-sawn. some other species may be cheaper but could be more difficult to work with and/or a nightmare to stain.dont know if i helped any as other people here are far more quailified to answer your question than me.

Gary
The Following User Says Thank You to loosebolt For This Useful Post:
datoney (02-18-2011)
post #3 of 15 Old 02-18-2011, 06:05 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
You pretty much limited your options when you said no oak because it was too expensive. In my experience oak is about the least expensive wood that I would consider for such a project as you have in mind.

I would suggest that you visit your local lumber yards and find out just what wood they sell that you like and can afford.