Up to 5 layers of flooring covering the bases of casings and plinth blocks-help! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 09-13-2008, 12:26 PM Thread Starter

View DuchessWolff's Photo Album My Photos
Up to 5 layers of flooring covering the bases of casings and plinth blocks-help!

Forgive my lack of terminology, I have no experience when referring to woodworking. I am working on trying (operative word) to restore or replace rotted door casings and frames. Our house is c. 1850, and with the exception of the staircase spindles/newel post and rail, all the trimwork in the house appears to be pine. It was built, we were told, as a grand home, but was remodeled in about 1890 for use as a farmhouse (we even have picture fro the early 1900's of herds of cattle in our front yard). We would like to restore the house to its original grandeur, and after removing the first of many door casings, have found that they are all below the floor levels, down to the plank subflooring(?). The former owners, have in turn, removed the smaller width hardwood floor in the front hall, and back hall - I can assume because it may not have been salvagable do to wear and tear over the years. There is a hideous array of flooring, as we have torn up the back hall already. From commercial tiles, linoleum sheeting, other unrecognizable flooring, plywood, etc. I have checked the archival data at our local historical society to discover that the original woodwork was rather ornate, with the casings having a 'column' look, with corner rosettes. Wanting to replicate this style, how do I get the floor issue resolved? Do I do a tear down to the plank, or replace the hardwood, or do I use the current floor height and not recess the casings and linth blocks? Arggghhh - I just want it to look right and last another hundred years! Help please!!!!

Last edited by DuchessWolff; 09-13-2008 at 12:28 PM. Reason: spelling check
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 09-13-2008, 12:34 PM