Specific quarter round advice needed and accent work question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 03-27-2016, 10:50 PM Thread Starter

View Nrpnrp's Photo Album My Photos
Specific quarter round advice needed and accent work question

Hi everyone. Just a little background....I am a novice. This is my first woodworking project aside from some deck handrails, a couple crown molding rooms and a laminate floor install. I am building a desk and bench and have two questions:

I have a vertical "leg" on my desk made with mdf board and 6" wide mdf baseboard. I cut some quarter round today and after reading some discussion on how skirting shouldn't be applied to door jambs it occurred to me that perhaps my amateur skills are showing thru on my technique for this desk leg. Would any of you have suggestions on how to finish the base of this board? Am I overdoing it on the quarter round? I could use some pointers or, if I'm lucky, reassurance that it looks ok.

Second question. I'm planning to add some accent trim to my project. It's simply mdf blocks cut with 45's on all sides that I'm gonna tack to the face wall of my bench. Wondering if I'm ruining the whole look here with these bulky blocks? My other idea was to make some shapes with detail molding or cutting those same shaped out of 1/4" thick mdf.

Thanks so much for the advice, let me know if my questions are not clear.
Attached Images

Last edited by Nrpnrp; 03-27-2016 at 11:56 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-28-2016, 10:35 AM Thread Starter

Went back and read my post and wanted to clarify my questions (my edit function is gone):

Looking at pictures 2 and 3. Is the quarter round at the base excessive? If so any suggestions on what would make it look more professional?

Looking at my 4th and last picture. Do the square and rectangular accent blocks look out of place or tacky? Should I change the decorative pieces out for lower profile pieces?