Smoothing bookcase faces - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 01-05-2009, 06:04 PM Thread Starter

View justin2009's Photo Album My Photos
Smoothing bookcase faces

Hi,

I'm fairly new to woodworking (and brand new here) and have built some small tables in the past. I tried my hand last week at building some built in bookshelves and have a couple of questions (and I learned a lot in the process).

1) I used a "Dowel-it" jig to assemble the face of the cabinets and the "self centering" jig did NOT self center well, leaving the edges of the arches and the styles unlevel by a large amount. I was able to fix this to a large extent with a block plane on three of the arches. The outage was only about a sixteenth and they planed out pretty well (for my first time with a hand plane, too). On the last two arches on the right, the arch and the style are out of flush by about an eighth (circled in red). I really should have recut and redrilled the arches and the style, but got in a hurry. The plane isn't really working to level this out. Will a belt sander with 150, 180, or 220 work for leveling this? I don't have a belt sander and from prior experience, my orbital sander won't remove enough wood to make it efficient. I can buy a belt sander if this will work best. Will be painting this when I'm done prepping. It's like the "self-centering" doweling jig got more and more out of center as I used it.

2) Overall, I'm really pleased with how this turned out, except for the fact that there is an electrical outlet behind one of the shelves (grrrrrr...). What is the best way to fill in this mistake? If I move the outlet, I don't think code will allow me to mount an electrical outlet in one of the nifty plastic clamping boxes... not sure how I'd nail a box into a stud without sawing out a large portion of the wall.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bookshelves 007.JPG
Views:	793
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	6357  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement