Woodworking Talk banner

Shaping my own molding/trim/etc, to paint white - what materials are best?

8K views 16 replies 10 participants last post by  MattS 
#1 ·
Hi all,

So I'm a novice, at best, at all things woodworking. I'm about to finish hanging drywall in my new office, and as it's the first room in our entire house I'll be installing trim/molding/sills in, I have to pick out shaper bits and materials this coming week to get started on it. I've been reading and searching these forums furiously for answers so I won't waste everyone's time with inane questions, but I'm afraid it's time for a couple :surrender:

I bought a second-hand Delta 43-122 shaper last year (hurray craigslist). Here is a picture of a similar one, missing it's fence. If memory serves, my shaper came with a spindle insert that allows router bit use, but I'll have to go look at it again this weekend and verify (I'm aware that would require a much lower feedrate, as the shaper rpm should be approx 9-12k vs a router 20-30k speed). I'd like to form the trim and cabinet/built-in parts and pieces needed for the upcoming projects using this shaper.

My goal is to completely overhaul my home trim/molding (baseboards, windows, doors, and possibly crown molding in living room/dining room). I will also be trying my hand at designing and building a number of built-ins around a large fireplace. All to be painted white.

Questions for the veterans of the forums; could you give me your opinions on what types of woods I should use for the following;