Roman Ogee selection - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By FrankC

post #1 of 8 Old 09-16-2017, 12:49 PM Thread Starter

View Mahoganychip's Photo Album My Photos
Roman Ogee selection

Greetings,

I want to order a 1/4" shank (or 1/2" if its better) Roman Ogee bit for some 3/4" maple to be used for trim work. My guess is that this question is a no brainer so yes, I'm a novice in woodworking who has not acquired a collection of router bits yet. But there are so many specific types out there for a roman ogee I didn't know where to start and the last thing I want to do is take my best guess only to find I need to send it back. About all I know is that I want to replicate something that has a roman ogee feature with 1/4" convex and concave rounds positioned evenly with the 3/4" stock.

Thanks,

MahoganyChip
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-16-2017, 01:48 PM Thread Starter

Or perhaps there is a reference chart I missed somewhere that lays out all the nomenclature and dimensions I seek to order what I'm looking for?...

Maker of very expensive wood shavings
post #3 of 8 Old 09-16-2017, 01:52 PM

View Catpower's Photo Album My Photos
Is this something like you were looking for"

http://www.grizzly.com/products/3-4-...ce=grizzly.com

You might also look up MLCS they sell a lot of router bits

https://www.mlcswoodworking.com/
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 09-17-2017, 09:48 AM Thread Starter

Thank you Catpower. With so many variations on these bits I was confused with which bearing sizes, 5/32 vs 7/32 radius, and 1-3/8 vs 1-1/2 diameters etc...

Kind regards,

Mahogany Chip

Maker of very expensive wood shavings
post #5 of 8 Old 09-17-2017, 10:44 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
This meets your requirements

It's got the 1/4" raduis and works for 3/4" thick stock:

https://www.mlcswoodworking.com/cgi-...3&redirect=yes