Questions installing custom carved door jambs - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 03-01-2015, 07:22 PM Thread Starter

View voxhaul's Photo Album My Photos
Question Questions installing custom carved door jambs

Hi Everyone,

I've been renovating my circa 1865 for too many years now and have done most of the work myself (rough carpentry, flooring, electrical, heating, etc.). It has been quite a project. We are getting to trimming the interior, starting with the door jambs, and I have a couple of basic questions.

The original jambs in the house were about 1-1/16" thick and carved from a single piece of wood. In addition to the stop, there is a bead-ish detail on both sides of the doorway where the jamb meets the casing. We have had this jamb stock replicated from a local mill out of 5/4 poplar.

To install the jambs, my plan is as follows: I was going to miter the top jamb section to the sides on a workbench, carry the assembly to the rough opening, align it in the opening with shims, and then nail the jambs into place through the shims. Presto: done!

So my questions are:

- Does this strategy seem reasonable?

- What would be the best way to hold the miters together while fastening the jamb sections together?

- How should I fasten the miters? I was thinking about screwing the corners together? Is there a best type of screw?

- Would 16ga. finish nails be adequate to fasten the jambs to the framing, or should I use something beefier?

Thanks so much for any input. I'm pretty handy, but this jamb project has got me a little intimidated, and I want to do it right!

Dan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 03-01-2015, 11:28 PM

View Ghidrah's Photo Album My Photos